Nomination for Society Awards

Any member of the Arkansas Archeological Society may nominate a deserving individual for a Society award.  The potential award recipient must meet the criteria established for each award. Awards are presented at the Annual Meeting of the Arkansas Archeological Society.  Nominations for awards MUST BE RECEIVED BY AUGUST 15th for consideration by the Executive Board.  Nominations can be made by using the downloadable form below or by filling out the online version here:

Send printed versions of nomination form(s) to Gillian Steeno ( or to the following physical address:
Arkansas Archeological Society
ATTN: Award Nomination
2475 N. Hatch Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72704

Award Descriptions


The McGimsey Preservation Award

(one award given occasionally to members or nonmembers)

The McGimsey Preservation Award recognizes outstanding contributions to archeology in Arkansas. It is the Society’s highest honor. The McGimsey Preservation Award was created in 1990 to honor Dr. Charles “Bob” McGimsey for his lifetime achievements in historic and archeological preservation. The award evolved out of The Preservationist Award, which the Society established in 1989. When Bob McGimsey retired in 1990, the Society named this highest award after him. The award recognizes the contributions of individuals or organizations in preserving the archeological heritage of Arkansas. The award is only given when an appropriate candidate is nominated.

For a list of the McGimsey Award Honorees, click here.

Distinguished Service Award 

(one award given occasionally to a Society member)

This award can be given to anyone with at least ten years of Society membership and extensive activities that benefit both the Society and Arkansas archeology. In particular, this award emphasizes the long-time contributions made by individuals in administering the Society and its functions, organizing and assisting field and lab work, and promoting the goals and objectives of the Society. Examples of activities can be similar to that for Society Member of the Year Award. Amateur and professional archaeologists that are members of the Society are eligible for this award but are judged on different scales. This award is given only once to any individual.

For a list of the Distinguished Service Award Honorees, click here.

Society Member of the Year 

(one award given occasionally to a Society member)

This award recognizes significant achievements or contributions made by a Society member over the previous year or culmination of several years. This person would have contributed in ways exceeding the average Society member. Examples might be significant time and effort spent in field or lab activities, extensive efforts in preservation activities, tireless efforts in education or Society administration activities, etc… Society members may win this award more than once and for different reasons.

For a list of the Society Member of the Year Award Honorees, click here.

Certificates of Appreciation

(multiple awards given yearly)

Certificates of Appreciation may be presented to a person, group of individuals, or an organization that supports the philosophy and goals of the Society and has made a contribution having a positive impact on Arkansas archeology, on the Society, or on the Arkansas Archeological Survey. Several awards may be made in one year.